Links of love (4)

February 15, 2016 § 2 Comments

Preamble: these kind of posts are not in any way sponsored. I am writing Links of love as a means for me to learn to notice and appreciate the small and big things around me.

I don’t normally use a lot of spices when I cook so it was nothing short of a miracle that I walked out of La place aux epices full of a dozen little bags. This amazing gem in Annecy carries everything, and I really mean everything you could ever imagine in terms of spices. I came out with a bag of raspberry piment salt, lemon herbs salt, freshly grounded vanilla and cardamom, wasabi-infused sesame, a bottle of mango vinegrette  and another little bag of prune-infused sesame. Oh, and the owner gifted me a box of candied orange peel. I loooved this place! I already tested the raspberry salt and mango vinegrette on my salad today and let me tell you, it was amazing.

epices

Finding the most hydrating, nicest looking lipstick that doesn’t cost a fortune? I thought I had lost this battle. I simply could not find any lipstick that stays on nicely without staining my teeth or the glass or that doesn’t completely dry up my lips. Until I found Clarins. I really love Clarins products, but this lipstick is fantastic and I am obsessed with it.

grenadine

Speaking of lipsticks and beauty… I’ve had this hair straightener from Tony and Guy for about 7 years. I purchased it on a whim when I was a student in London and probably only used it two or three times. You see, I never actually straighten my hair and I had no clue that you can use it to curl your locks. However recently I have found that one great way for me to decompress is to watch hair tutorials on youtube and this is how I came across this video of how to use a hair straightener to curl your hair. This was the result after 10 minutes of trial and error. Oh, and in this pic I am actually wearing the Grenadine lipstick, but the light in the room really doesn’t do justice to the beautiful color.

curls

Ever since I came back from New Zealand I’ve been on a reading frenzy. I’m reading books like it’s nobody’s business. I’ve gone through three of Harrier Lerner’s books – Marriage rules, The dance of anger and the Dance of fear and she was an absolute revelation. Lerner is a very prolific author and I encourage you to check out her books!

What’s your favourite cake? Mine is most definitely, forever and ever, the éclair. I don’t have a sweet tooth and I would most likely always choose cheese and olives over buttercream frosting, but éclairs… When we went to Annecy last Saturday I had to get one. You know how you get a random craving for something and then the craving doesn’t subside for days and days? It was like that for me with éclairs. Sometimes a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do and that’s okay.

When I need to do something I don’t want to do (most often a household chore) I motivate myself by playing some upbeat music. Beyoncé’s latest hit is great not just for that dreaded house cleaning, but also for running. Absolutely love it and have been listening to it on repeat.


What have you been listening to? Also, I’m curious: what’s your favourite cake?

 

§ 2 Responses to Links of love (4)

  • iuliaBe says:

    nice photo 🙂 now I can associate a face (quite pretty :)) ) to the texts on this blog

  • Sinziana says:

    Thank you Iulia, that’s nice of you to say! 🙂 To be totally honest, I have been trying to associate a face to your name too. 🙂 Even yesterday I was thinking about this, how crazy is that?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Links of love (4) at .

meta

