Baked falafel and healthy tuna spread

November 18, 2015 § 5 Comments

A few days ago I mentioned I had made a big batch of falafels and loved it. Today I bring you the recipe for that and another easy to assemble lunch for busy work-weeks.

falafels

Baked falafelyields ~ 33 falafel balls

2 cans of chickpeas (approx. 350g)

1 yellow onion (or a bunch of spring onions)

1 bunch of dill

3 tbsp. capers

3 roasted peppers – don’t skip these!

salt, pepper, cumin, or your favourite spices – I used zaatar

2 tbsp. oat flour – you can substitute any kind of flour you have on hand

How-to: you only need a food processor and a big bowl. Use the food processor to mince all the ingredients then mix well with your hands. The dough should be easily shapeable but if not you can add a tiny bit of oil. The roasted peppers should be really good quality; the ones I used came from a jar and had been packed in oil and spices. They were lovely!

As soon as you’ve formed the falafel balls, place them on a baking sheet and brush them gently with a bit of oil. Then bake until they are slightly golden, but not overly done. If you leave them too long in the oven they will easily fall apart, and you don’t want that. The chickpeas were already cooked and it took only 20 minutes for the falafels to be ready.

There are infinite variations for how to eat these falafels: in a pita bread with dill yogurt sauce, atop a salad, in a sandwich, or in a ziplock back when you’re travelling as a snack.

Here I had it on top of a beetroot salad and next to cottage cheese. Such a satisfying lunch!

falafel 2

 

Normally for lunch I like to make a decent sized salad that can hold me well. I try to include some protein, carbs and fat – this is the ideal combination. Since I love fish in any shape or form I played with the idea of making a tuna spread where I could maximize the volume of veggies without underpowering the tuna. This one was easy peasy. ๐Ÿ™‚

spinach

Tuna spreadyields 2 generous servings

1 can of tuna – if packed in oil you will need to reserve the oil for later use

1 carrot

half a red pepper

4 tbsp. yogurt –ย I used Greek for extra protein and creaminess

2 tbsp. mustard

How-to: grate the carrot, cube the red pepper and mix all ingredients with a fork until you get a paste-like consistency. I served this with aย  spinach salad and extra crackers (unpictured). This recipe is super versatile: you can use broccoli or any kind of cooked or raw veggies, add avocado or pumpkin/sunflower seeds for extra fat, sprinkle paprika or your favourite spices, serve it on red pepper ‘boats’ etc.

It’s ideal because it packs a lot of nutrition and can be assembled in 10 minutes flat. You’ll also have leftovers for later. Try it, you can thank me later. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

§ 5 Responses to Baked falafel and healthy tuna spread

  • Daniela E. says:

    Those Falafel balls look amazing, I’m wondering now why haven’t I thought about that before…And regarding Tuna, I’m more of a Tuna+corn+avocado+onion+lemon juice kinda Girl ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sinziana says:

      Please try them Daniela! You can add whatever veggies you like but just make sure you mince them well so that the balls stick together. I love stronger flavours like garlic, but that just wouldn’t do for the office, so I opted for cumin instead. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I LOVE the tuna salad with avo that you mentioned above, you just gave me an idea for my next lunch. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • arakelian says:

    Nice idea!! I have some questions: chickpeas is boiled or not?
    If I cook once, can I eat next day, too? the taste is changed?

    • Sinziana says:

      Hi Arakelian! Yes, the chickpeas are boiled, they come from a can (with only water and salt). I have boiled chickpeas in the past but I really don’t have the time to do it now. And yes, you can cook them today and enjoy them for the next 2-3 days. They keep really well in the fridge… like beans and rice. The taste remains the same, but perhaps you could add a tiny bit of lemon juice and cover them with a lid while they are in the fridge. If you try them let me know how it worked! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Baked falafel and healthy tuna spread at .

meta

