November. What I’m looking forward to

November 6, 2015 § 5 Comments

The countdown to the year end has begun (actually it never stopped…) Here’s a list of things I’m looking forward to:

  • A good running race – whether it will be the one at the end of November, or the one beginning of December I know for sure that I won’t let this year go by without completing a race. Because they’re so much fun!
  • Many more squash games. We have one scheduled for tonight, yay!
  • Some Christmas shopping and gift-making. This year I am actually planning to bake some cookies for friends. I love that I can start doing this early on and don’t need to leave it last minute.
  • Listening to Christmas carols and drinking some hot chocolate until… we take off for New Zealand. Which I’m hoping will be warm and nice.
  • Speaking of New Zealand here are my top 3 things to look forward to: hiking in Fiordland (supposed to be a-ma-zing!), meeting with my beloved penguins (fingers crossed!) and drinking endless cups of coffee (Kiwis are famous for the good quality java they make and I.can’t.wait)
  • Reading some more – I’m currently deep in ‘On the move’ by my beloved O.Sacks and ‘Rising strong’ by Brene Brown – she is such an incredible writer.

Here’s a cute pic – a house in Gex at the end of October.

gex

What are you looking forward to?

§ 5 Responses to November. What I’m looking forward to

  • Daniela E. says:

    New Zealand sounds incredible, such an amazing destination! Hope you have lots of fun! My November will be a sweet melancholy, as I will be spending the winter holidays back home in Braila and I always get sentimental when I plan the trip to see my family.

  • Sinziana says:

    Thank you so much Daniela! I’ve never been to Braila, how is it? I take it spending holidays with family means a lot to you. Would you like to write a post about that that I could publish here? I always love to hear about the way people spend their holidays and would really enjoy to read about what you and your family did – but in case this is not something you would feel comfortable with, I totally get it! 🙂 Let me know what you think!

    • Daniela E. says:

      Wow, such a kind offer from your part!, I will definitely consider it and try to give it a go, and, of course, if my writing will not be so great, please feel free to give me pointers, you obviously have a lot more experience than I do with writing and I kinda like the way you write, that’s why I’m reading your blog 🙂
      As for Braila, what can I tell you? Almost 200.000 people living there an it still manages to feel like a really small town. Maybe it’s because the city is not so spred across the land, maybe it’s because the neighbours are tipically noisy, but you do get the sense that everybody knows everybody, Being on the Danube, it is a true cultural mosaic, with strong minorities communities such as the Russian Lipoveni, the Greeks, Jews and Gipsies. Not the perfect place, but the place I call home and to which i will always feel a connection. The place that showed me that one can achieve great things with very little and take pride in ones work.

  • Sinziana says:

    Please don’t feel any pressure to write that – only if it gives you pleasure. And of course, it can be in Romanian or English, whatever you prefer. As you can see, on this blog I write in both languages, depending on my mood in that moment. 🙂 Or you could write a ‘silent’ blog post, with lots of pictures and not so many words.
    I’d love to visit Braila one day. The farthest I’ve gone was Tulcea and that was to get the ferry to Sulina. I’m sure Braila has a fascinating history.
    Heck, I come from Ploiesti, it doesn’t get more industrial or oily than that haha. 🙂
    And thank you for the compliments on my writing style – I appreciate that. 🙂

    • Daniela E. says:

      It’s really quite exciting for me, I’ve never even thought of writing anything other than a comment, so thanks for “opening a box” for me!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading November. What I’m looking forward to at .

meta

