Delicious eats

October 22, 2015 § Leave a comment

Lately I’ve  been on a groove regarding eating- I’m seeking nutritious, filling meals that will give me plenty of energy but will still taste great.

The ideal meal for me combine these 3 elements: fiber (coming mainly from veggies but also pulses like lentils and beans, or chia and linseeds), fat, protein and a good source of slow-releasing carbs. So my meals are built around vegetables galore, pulses in any shape and form, avocado, cream / butter, fish or other types of meat, yogurt and eggs, sweet potatoes and winter squash, with some dates and figs here and there. 🙂 I find that meals which combine at least 3 of these elements (fiber, fat and protein) leave me feeling happy, satiated but not full and bloated.

But my views around food are more balanced nowadays – there are days where I treat myself to fresh pressed veggie and fruit juice, but I might balance that with something from the bakery. Cinnamon swirl everyone? It’s about how you feel at the end of the day and I’m trying to be aware of my bodily cues as much as possible.

Here are some healthy and delicious eats I’ve been enjoying lately:

avocado

This was breakfast one morning: scrambled eggs à la Gordon Ramsay, cracker with avo and chilli flakes and a pepper. Loved this!

ton

Lunch yesterday: baked squash with canned tuna and tapenade. I actually baked the squash beforehand and simply re-heated it in the oven.

sweet p

I actually baked a lot of ingredients beforehand and then mix and match with whatever I have on hand to build a full meal. I’ve made a habit to roast a big batch of veggies on Sunday as part of my meal prep. I coated the sweet potatoes in chilli flakes and zaatar and drizzled a bit of oil before roasting. This batch lasted me 3 days.

lentils

Coconut lentil soup and a seedy, crusty bread. Normally I hate anything coconutty but this soup I got at a bakery in Zurich was fantastic. Together with the dense little bread, the lentils had a lot of staying power.

verde suc

I love making juices again. Nothing more refreshing then a freshly squeezed juice in the morning. I include everything I have in the fridge or pantry from kale to spinach to kiwi to cukes to grapes (overly sweet for me on their own). Or, if I don’t have time I’ll just get a grapefruit juice which is extremely cleansing and energizing, making sure to balance with a hearty breakfast.

à bientôt! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Delicious eats at .

meta

