When things don’t go as planned and how to stay on track

September 9, 2015 § Leave a comment

As I’ve mentioned before, my job and professional life tends to be quite unpredictable and intense at times. That translates into craving more structure and a ‘red thread’ in my personal life. I’ve recently started ‘partitioning’ my week-ends to make sure I include all the to-dos but also the things I love and feel passionate about. Needless to say, this covers nutrition and sports. On Sunday I had drafted a plan which looked really great – don’t all plans look that way?

Monday was great. I stuck to the planned breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. I went to a great yoga class and in the evening made an amazing lentil pancetta soup (recipe to follow). But on Tuesday things started going south. I had lots of client commitments, some draining meetings and some frustrating news. I had been in the office since 7.30am and by the time I left I had already been working for 12 hours. Needless to say by the time I arrived home I was too beat to go for a run, hungry and cranky and most of all… exhausted. I could see the pressure rising in me as I collapsed in bed. I fell asleep around 21.30 (this rarely EVER happens) and set my alarm for 6am with the intention of going for a run and getting in a healthy, filling breakfast.

Except the run didn’t happen and neither did the breakfast.

I slept through the 4 (four!) alarms I had set. I woke up feeling like I could sleep at least 3 more hours. I didn’t eat breakfast at home because I didn’t have time. I didn’t pack lunch. Instead, I stormed out of the door feeling the frustration of yesterday surfacing again. A string of bad choices, I thought.

But as I was running to the tram station, I stopped. I paced myself. I decided to stop beating myself up and instead forgive mself. I promised I will not allow one day to ruin everything. And I promised to prioritise my own wellbeing over anything else. This is new to me but I’m getting better at it. So today my to-do list looks like this:

    • Go to bed early
    • Eat well
    • Move thy body in a way that feels good
    • Smile! 🙂

bridge

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading When things don’t go as planned and how to stay on track at .

meta

