Ships and navigators, miles and more

June 4, 2015 § Leave a comment

1

This ship has sailed. Jump ship! Shape up or ship out! Flow! That was plain sailing… 🙂

These are but a few expressions I know that involve the idea of ships and sailing. I’ve always known I wanted to live by some type of river or lake and let me tell you, with its 300 something km of pure beauty Lac Leman does not disappoint. 🙂 These days, while the hot weather is becoming more and more obvious the cool breeze from the lake is nothing short of amazing.

But there is something else about lakes and navigating that fascinates me. These past few weeks it has become more and more obvious to me that I am the captain of my own ship. I decide who is part of my crew, who I can invite onboard and who needs to get off asap. I have the compass and I decide where I want to go. And while this may sound like a control freak’s paradise, there are moments when you have to go with the wind. When the waters are stormy and the wind blows strongly, the smartest thing to do is actually not oppose the winds, but go with them, follow them without knowing where that might take you. I like to call that sailing in the blind and it’s an essential skill to master in life.

For a while now I have been weathering some storms and pushing ahead without a clear idea of where I am headed. But now my compass is back where it belongs and I am ready for some smooth sailing. No more storms, no more sharks in the water and no more water aboard. This is smooth sailing. 🙂

2 3

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ships and navigators, miles and more at .

meta

