Destined for greatness

June 2, 2015 § Leave a comment

I know this sounds like big, pompous words but getting out on the other side after you’ve had tunnel vision for a while can feel… liberating!

It’s 6.35am and I’m about to meet a friend for a game of squash in a few minutes. I’m almost done with preparing my snacks for the day and I’ve carefully layed out my office attire last night. I also know what my top 5 priorities are today. I’ve had my lemon water in the morning. Oh, and I feel really really good.

This has not happened often enough for me to call it a habit. But dang, does this change feel good. Like an awakening. And God knows what else is waiting on the other side!…

Later edit

Okay so squash was great, but I was a little late for work. Biking to and from the squash court killed my legs, but damn does it feel good. The yogurt-melon-chia breakfast was really amazing too! Anyway, what I wanted to say is:

– I think I’ve been holding myself down from a bunch of amazing stuff – all related to me. There is so much potential there, so much to – feel, read, know, experience, be. I’ve been hiding – perhaps I did not feel like showing myself to the world?

But I am showing up now. I am beginning to do great stuff at my job – stuff that can really have an impact, I am exercising and eating well (or almost well), and taking care of myself. I’m starting to read all these books and build important connections with people. I care about myself – how I dress, how I look, how I feel, where I want to go. It’s like a surging current, a feeling of excitement and ‘I-can’t-wait’.

My learnings:

– whatever you’re going through right now, it will pass. Neither good, nor bad are forever. Take this time to do whatever you need to do.

– spend time regularly to really center yourself. Try to see whatever is going on. Be honest to yourself. Painfully honest. Some questions to ask yourself: What’s working? What’s not? What’s draining my energy / what gives me energy? How am I feeling? What do I need to change? Take whatever time you need to find answers.

exercise helps massively, and so does eating well. Don’t start everything at once, just start from somewhere and go from there. Be consistent. Check in with yourself regularly. Hold your own hand through the bad times.

– when you don’t allow yourself to feel whatever needs to be felt, things can go bad. You go on auto-pilot and start doing all kinds of stupid things, which make you feel even worse. Remember: growth happens when things feel uncomfortable. So when it hurts, you should be happy.

– invest in yourself. In your body – by exercising, resting, eating clean, dressing well. Do you need a new haircut? Do you need to renew your wardrobe? Do you know what kind of attire looks best on you? Also invest in your mind – quieting the mind can be such a powerful exercise (this is something I need to work on myself!). Spend time educating yourself – read books, articles, watch movies, listen to new music. Ask yourself this question: what will it take for you to make that next leap? Then go out and do it!

And a song to help keep ourselves in the right light-hearted gear :):

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Destined for greatness at .

meta

