Connecting people

February 8, 2015 § Leave a comment

I speak ‘people talk’ fluently. I can read emotions, can play with them and navigate social situations quite easily. But unfortunately over time I have not invested enough time in nurturing my friendships or developing new relationships, something I really regret. I remember at Uni I would almost always choose library time over coffee with friends. Later this translated into long hours in the office versus at the bar with co-workers.

Moving further down on the relationships continuum  I realize I can be quite selfish about how I spend my own time. Yes, that is a very sad reality and me – a very self-contained person.

Well, over the past few months I have arrived at a different conclusion. I now know that friendships are deeply nurturing relationships where you allow the other person to express themselves liberally and help each other express the whole gamut of feelings. Friendships are about creating a safety net about that person you care strongly for, about playing together, stretching each other or simply listening.

I have also discovered that the trust with which my friends invest me when they pour their hearts out to me is incredible. It’s like holding a heart in your palms and blessing it. I have learned I can be a good, trustworthy, happiness- and hope-inducing friend.

Last Sunday I was really close to bailing out on a brunch date with a girlfriend – I knew we would both be disappointed and I almost wanted to deny myself that pleasure. But I  went with it – went against my crazy, self-imposed schedule and against the fear talking in my head.

And boy, did these girls have a blast! We laughed our hearts out, we got very emotional, we cheered for each other and simply talked for hours. In fact I can’t remember the last week-end when I spent so much time with friends – play in the snow, coffee dates, dinner and brunch!

Power is in the friendship and in togetherness…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Connecting people at .

meta

