Queen for a day

January 6, 2015 § Leave a comment

This is a ‘cute’ little thing that happened yesterday and that I almost left unnoticed.
On the 6th of January a lot of European countries celebrate Gallette du Roi, a Christian tradition that actually goes way back to the Roman Empire.
Back in the day, this was a Saturnalia festivity, by which the king and one of his slaves exchanged roles for one day. The king would offer his slaves a pie, in which a small bean was hidden. The slave who found it would wear the crown and be king for one day and in turn, the king would take his place.
In Christianity, this day marks the Epiphany, when the 3 Magi went to the Christ Child.
In France and Switzerland the Gallette du Rois is a delicious puff pastry filled with frangipane that is sold in most shops. The small figurine represents different characters and is normally made of porcelain.

Well, yesterday one of my colleagues brought such a Gallette to the office. She offered me a slice and, as I was working my way through it, I felt something hard. It was the small figurine and I jumped with joy, as this is a sign of great luck!
My colleague put the crown on my head and asked me to make a wish, which I did. ๐Ÿ™‚
I then moved on, feeling all happy and lucky.

But this morning I took a closer look at the figurine and saw that it was Radagast.
To be honest I had no idea who that was, as I did not watch Lord of the Rings (yes I’m odd).
I had to google Radagast and see that this character is a god of the sun, war, fertility and harvest.
Radagast is a great protector of nature, with its animal and plants. He is someone who does not get directly into conflict with the other gods, but finds ways to do good in a non-violent way. According to the Istari, Radagast is a ‘tender of beasts’. ๐Ÿ™‚
Pretty much like me, I would say. ๐Ÿ™‚

I am going to keep Radagast with me at all times and be aware that his great power and wisdom are in me.
Here’s to a very lucky year and life. ๐Ÿ™‚

rois

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Queen for a day at .

meta

