2 Ingredient 15 Minutes Healthy Cookies

February 6, 2014 § Leave a comment

Spoiler alert! I have an amazing recipe for you all!
While my house was getting filled with the smell of these beauties baking, I could not wait to share the ‘recipe’ in this corner of the Internet. 🙂

I present you… fool-proof Banana Oat Cookies. This is not a ‘new’ recipe, but I find it really strange that it’s not HUGELY popular in the virtual world. Guys, this is the best thing since sliced bread and I urge you to try it!!
OK I think I let you hang in there a little too much… 🙂

cookies

The WHAT:
– 200g rolled oats – I used standard ones
– 2 very ripe bananas (the ripe part is super important; your bananas should have brown spots on the skin!)

The HOW:
– simply grind the oats in a food processor or grinder (I used one that my parents gave me as a present and while I love how it looks, I hate the noise it makes, but that’s just my peeve). You don’t have to grind the oats completely, I for one like my cookies a bit chewy
– in a bowl, mash the bananas, then fold the oats in the banana mash
– form little cookies and line them up on a parchment sheet
– bake at 170°C for 15 minutes

HOW TO SERVE AND VARIATIONS:
– if these babies are not enough for you, you could always coat them in dark chocolate: melt a few squares of dark chocolate, drop the cookies in and scoop them out real quick, then sprinkle some coconut flakes on top too?
– to make thumbprint cookies: shape your cookie ball, then press it in the middle to get a little hole, fill with your favourite jam and pop them in the oven
– add peanut butter. Or hazelnut butter or almond butter – any type of nut butter, really
– mix in chia seeds – this will make the cookies even crunchier, not to mention healthier
– add a bit of vanilla flavor or rhum (I LOVE rhum!)
– serve them atop ricotta cheese. In fact I’m thinking of making a version of cheesecake that has this oat-banana combo as the ‘dough’… hmmm…
– pour it out into a baking tray like you would a brownie mix. Once baked portion them up in squares

WHY YOU WANT TO EAT THIS STUFF:
– for obvious reasons: fibre, fibre, fibre. And you know exactly what went in them
– they’re sweet (but not too much) and can tame a sweet tooth
– they are super portable – perfect for travelling, picnics etc.
– paired with yogurt or almond milk, they would make a perfect breakfast
– they allow for endless variations – like I said, you could add different nut butters, raisins, dark chocolate chips, coconut flakes etc.
– no one will know how easy it was to make them – or the fact that you had to wash up exactly one bowl. But they will be impressed!
– these cookies are chewy, yet soft on the inside and you can taste the nut butter. Mmmhhhhmm!

These guys are definitely going to be served in our bistro! What do you mean which bistro?! The one we’ll be opening soon, chock full of healthy and delicious treats, with the best music, comfiest chairs and sofas, beautiful and wild garden where you’ll want to be spending half of an eternity.
But that is a dream to be told in another one of these posts! 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 2 Ingredient 15 Minutes Healthy Cookies at .

meta

