Tomato lentil soup for the blue heart

September 8, 2013 § 2 Comments

P1040181It’s official: I’m starting to get the autumn blues. So instead of whining from underneath my blanket, yesterday I decided to brave a stubborn cold and make the soup I’ve been craving for a while.
I happen to L O V E tomato soup, but because ‘someone’ (wink wink) is not particularly fond of it, I don’t really make it that often. But yesterday I had the excuse of being ill, so I waited no longer and cooked the darn soup. For it to be heartier, I added lentils.

Here’s the how:
take 7 plump tomatoes, cut them in half and arrange them on a tray, bottoms up. Do the same thing with an onion and 7 cloves of garlic (but leave the skin on). Dust everything with salt and pepper and inside the oven they go, until the tomatoes turn soft. In the mean time, you should have soaked 150g lentils.
when the lentils are nice and soft, add the tomatoes, onion and peeled garlic cloves. let simmer for a few minutes and blend. that is it. [don’t ask me how much water to use, I am not the biggest fan of measuring – anything]

This makes about 5 servings. The first time we enjoyed them I added a generous bunch of chopped chives. Second time… well, the second time around it was paradise: we ate it with goats cheese tostadas. But with this soup, anything goes – I can imagine pumpkin seeds, or parsley, or hemp seeds (or some extra, fresh garlic?)

Enjoy! πŸ™‚

§ 2 Responses to Tomato lentil soup for the blue heart

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tomato lentil soup for the blue heart at .

meta

