The sum is better than the parts: my affair with hummus

August 1, 2012 § Leave a comment

I will confess here and now: I LOVE hummus. Chunky or smooth, with tahini or without, on toast, in a wrap or with veggies, for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

First time I tried chickpeas I was not so impressed. It was only when I started blending them with lemon juice, garlic and chilli flakes that I fully came to appreciate the power of this amazing legume. Now I can have chickpeas in a stew or casserole, but their taste really stands out for me when they are blended or tossed in hummus, falafel or veggie burgers. Yumm!!

Now for the recipe:

  • 2 cups of chickpeas – either I cook them myself or buy them canned
  • 2 garlic cloves  – or more 🙂
  • the juice of one lemon
  • salt, pepper, chilli flakes – to taste

~ You just blend everything to the desired consistency and then slurrrrp!

As you can see I have excluded the tahini, which can make hummus a bit too heavy for me sometimes.

My new obsession is spreading hummus over pumpernickel bread and adding a bit (or more) of ajvar, salsa or tomato paste. The colours are to die for! It goes similarly well with spring onions, green salad and red pepper all packed in a wrap-to-go.Chickpeas are a nutritional powerhouse – chock full of protein they will keep your belly happy for hours and they make a great portable snack too.

Summer time is bountiful with amazing fruit and veggies. I bought tomatoes at the farm the other day and proceeded with scooping one and stuffing it with freshly made hummus, like so:

All this talk about chickpeas has made me really excited about our upcoming trip to Israel. I did a bit of research on the local cuisine and was thrilled to find that chickpeas are a staple food, along with tahini, dates and all the other foods I truly love. Ohh yes, and they serve a killer coffee… November, are we there yet? 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The sum is better than the parts: my affair with hummus at .

meta

