Food on the go

July 31, 2012 § Leave a comment

WordPress seems to be having some problems lately – I had quite a few posts in draft but something went wrong when I hit ‘publish’. Oh well, writing everything all over again gives me the opportunity to reflect over things some more. 🙂

One of the topics I wrote about was food on the go i.e. what do we eat when we are away so that we feel happy, healthy and comfortably full? But firstly, why is it important at all to eat nutritious food when you are away? If you’re anything like me, whatever you eat influences your mood and well-being to a great extent. If I’m going to eat a dish high on fat, salt and sugar I know I will feel sluggish afterwards and have low energy levels.

For our amazing trip with Glacier Express two weeks ago I packed quite a bunch of foods:

  • snacks – apples, radishes, a huge cucumber, dates and nuts. And chocolate 🙂
  • wraps – my wraps had green salad, hummus, millet mash (more on that soon) and a hint of ajvar to spice things up a little. Needless to say, these wraps were very filling and they kept well too

I don’t know about everyone else, but I feel better when I am organised and prepared. Of course we had some ad-hoc meals on our way (think amazing pretzels in Chur and countless cups of coffee) and some of them were not that nutritious – for example the ‘bouillon’ I had in Zermatt was just plain hot water with something that tasted like Delikat. Eeek.

I’m still learning to eat healthy and reasonable while on the go. I recognize that some foods are loaded with fat, sugar and salt, but I am learning to avoid these and make healthier choices. And it’s all because I still want to be sprinting on hills like Bambi when I hit 50. 🙂

To summarize: eating healthy on the go is possible when you are thinking ahead. Fruit, veggies and nuts make great portable snacks and should be enjoyed freely. Yes, Snickers, Kinder Bueno and crisps are still appealing and will take some time to wean off of, but hey, we are all work in progress…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Food on the go at .

meta

